3D GameLabI’ve put so much work into my gamification strategy in my Applied Comm class this week.  I’ve learned a lot, too, mainly on the logistics side of setting it up, ironing out the technology wrinkles, and working with the 3D GameLab portal.

Here are some things I’ve figured out (or wish I would’ve done):

1)  Use my same “lingo.”  I tried to use some fun “gamish” language for the quests, but it was too much change for my students.  Some of my students have been in my classroom for 3-4 years, and at this point in the year, I should have kept with my same phrases.  For example, I changed Vocab Notes to “Learning the Lingo.”  I should have kept it simple and kept it the same.

2) Number the assignments.  I learned this from one of Alice Keeler’s posts.  Numbering quests 001, 002, 003 helps students keep track of where they are, but it also helped with communication.  I didn’t make this change until midweek, and I wish I would have done it earlier.  Then we could simply talk about #4 or #6 and immediately understand each other.  Does this seem minor?  Perhaps?  But I assure you, it makes  a huge difference.

Ch 12 Game Chart   draw.io

3.  Make a game map.  After I made one in Draw.io pro, I used Block Posters to print it on PDFs and pieced it together on our bulletin board.  Then I created a caradstock tag with each student’s gamer tag, so they could move it along as they finished each quest.  That gave them and me a visual of how they were progressing.

4.  Indicate requirements/options.  I included assignments that were required, but I also added optional vocabulary reviews that would earn students points and give me time to look through student assignments and make sure they met my expectations before I allowed them to move on in the game.  Some students spent a lot of time on these reviews and not enough time on the other assignments, even though the other assignments clearly were worth more points.  Today I clearly marked “required” and “optional” on assignments.  Will I always have to do this?  I don’t think so.  This early on in the experience, however, I think my students need it until they’re used to this process more.

I’m sure I have hundreds, perhaps thousands more lessons to learn.  But the lessons got easier through the week.  Students adjusted.  Several commented how much they liked it.  Some commented they didn’t.  However, we’re only a week in, and it’s too soon to make a judgment.