Technology Pursuit

Blending Technology Into the Language Arts Classroom

Helping Students Spot FAKE NEWS

 

My juniors have started our unit of “What Is Truth?” and the first focus of the unit is fake news. (We move to biased sources and unreliable narrators later.)

This is also a topic that has a lot of resources, including games. (You can find some of my favorite resources here.)

But this post is all about how we kick off the unit.

1. Start with Factitious

Factitious is a simple True/False fake news game. All players need to do is determine whether the article if real or fake. I also love that there are six different levels, which allows students choice–my higher-ability readers can choose the “hard” levels suggested for college readers, and students who are struggling may choose to do an “easy” level.

I used this as the opening activity this year. They played for 5-10 minutes, and then they added a post to a Padlet describing what their strategies were in playing the game.

This is important. I did not tell them any strategies. I didn’t give them any hints on discerning the fake news from real. They found their own ways, talked to their neighbors about them, shared them on Padlet. They learned just by trial and error.

At the end of the day, I made an anchor poster of the strategies they’d listed. This anchor poster then provides a go-to list of strategies for finding fake news throughout the unit (and hopefully, throughout life!)

Factitious Game

Anchor Poster of Fake News Strategies

 

2. Play The Canadian Infiltration

I like the collaborative feeling of Breakout Games, but I’m always looking for ways to add more close reading. Thus, The Canadian Infiltration was born. The narrative is that fifty years into the future, the Canadians are tired of the cold temperatures and want to move farther south. One of their steps in doing so: Dividing Americans through the use of fake news.

I provide each group with a manila envelope of articles. Four of them are fake. Their task is to determine which articles are fake. They’re allowed to use the Internet, the anchor chart, their experience from playing Factitious, and good ol’ common sense.

In the past, I’ve started out with The Canadian Infiltration, but I’m really happy with the sequence of this year’s activities. Playing Factitious, developing a set of strategies, and then moving into the group game was very smooth. More so than ever, I saw students more concerned about sources and checking other sites to corroborate articles

6 Comments

  1. I lost my Job few months ago,my wife left me ,could not get income for my family, things was so tough and I couldn’t get anything for my children, not until a met a recommendation on a page writing how Mr Bernie Wilfred helped a lady in getting a huge amount of profit every 6 working days on trading with his management on the cryptocurrency Market, to be honest I never believe it but I took the risk to take a loan of $1000. and I contacted him unbelievable and I was so happy I earn $12,500 in 6 working days, the most joy is that I can now take care of my family I don’t know how to appreciate your good work Mr. Bernie Doran God will continue to bless you for being a life saver I have no way to appreciate you than to tell people about your good services.
For a perfect investment and good strategies contact Mr Bernie Doran via WhatsApp :+1(424)285-0682 or Telegram : @Bernie_fx or Gmail : Bernie.doranfx01@gmail.com

  2. Are you seriously aiming on winning the lottery this season? Don’t make it look hard for you. Reach out to Dr Ozigidon for his undisputed powerful Lottery Spell and make your dreams come true.

    I admitted that life is all about sacrifice to make dreams come true. I realized this after winning the sum of $310.5 million. Yes! A whopping sum of 310.5 million dollars in 2018. Though It seems like yesterday because after all these years of being a winner of a multi-million dollar lottery it still refreshes in my head. My name is Julie Leach. All thanks to Dr Ozigidon because with his undisputed powerful spell everything came so easy, it wasn’t by luck or chance that i won the lottery. With Dr Ozigidon powerful spell, my dream came true. He is popularly known for his active spell. ”If I had been told I would be a multi-million winner overnight I guess I would have doubted it but Dr Ozigidon made it so easy., contact Dr Ozigidon at [drozigidonhenz.spell.net@gmail.com]. Winning the lottery is truly beyond the physical and most people are yet to realize this. I have been so grateful to Dr Ozigidon everyday for the past years. Thanks to this powerful sorcerer. His Telegram: @OzigidonSpell

  3. I promise Dr Kala that I will testify of his good work if he helps me to get back my husband and he really did, my husband came back to me and begged me to forgive him for the pains he has caused me. My husband and i have been together for 11yrs and married over 6years now with 2 kids, my husband started going out with other ladies and showed me cold love, on several occasions he threatens to divorce me if I dare question him about his affair with other ladies, I was totally devastated and confused until a friend of mine told me about a spell caster called Dr Kala who help people with relationship and marriage problems by the powers of love spells, at first I doubted if such thing ever exists but decided to give it a try, when I contact him, he cast a love spell for me and within 48hours my husband came back to me and beg me to forgive him for what he did to me and right now he has stopped going out with ladies and he is with me for good and for real. Contact this great spell caster for your relationship or marriage problem on email: kalalovespell@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347051705853

  4. Andrew Beckett

    March 19, 2024 at 2:21 am

    GETTING YOUR PARTNER BACK IS FULLY ASSURED WITH DR ISIKOLO. His website (https://isikolo-temple.com)
    I and my wife had a misunderstanding which led to a huge fight and she left home and returned back to her fathers house. I let my emotions got the best of me and stayed permanently away from her. Things grew worse when she started seeing another man and I never knew about it. I tried fixing the problem and getting her to return back home and she never came back. I later found out all that has been going on and decided to seek help to fix my marriage with her which made me contact Dr Isikolo. Just as expected he worked for me and the problem was fixed and I am reunited with my wife. She returned back home just after 48 hours as promised by Dr Isikolo. I am forever indebted to him for fixing the problem I had in my marriage. kindly contact him for fast and urgent Help, WhatsApp him on: +2348133261196

  5. Natasha Miller

    March 25, 2024 at 8:08 pm

    My husband whom I built my life with for 23 years left me and the kids without a word. Everything came crashing down on me and I reached out to our loved ones and no one could help. There came a time he filed for divorce even when we had no issues or ever fought over anything disastrous. Dr Isikolo came to my rescue and fixed the problem I had with my man. He reunited us back together again and he returned home to us. Indeed life is mysterious and I never thought I would experience what I did went through but all thanks to Dr Isikolo who worked for me and assured me of the positive results after 48 hours which indeed came to pass as he promised. He can as well fix your problems if you contact him now. Text him on WhatsApp him on +2348133261196 or Review his website (https://isikolo-temple.com)

  6. It gladdens my heart to be out here to say a word of thank you to Dr Isikolo. His page (https://isikolo-temple.com)  
    I never thought I would be able to see my marriage work again despite the fact that everything had already been working against me, Dr Isikolo came to my rescue. I had a problem in my home which made my husband left and I was already pregnant and it became difficult for me to cope without him in my life. His family supported me all along but no one could help reunite us back except Dr Isikolo who responded at the time I needed help the most. He got the problem fixed and my husband returned back home to me just after 48 hours because he was still living in the same city with me. It quite amazing when you find help where you least thought you can get help. Once again thank you Dr Isikolo for all you do to help people in dire need of assistance. WhatsApp him on +2348133261196

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2024 Technology Pursuit

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

Skip to toolbar