Technology Pursuit

Blending Technology Into the Language Arts Classroom

Book Soundtracks: Combining Reading & Music

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 11.24.45 AM

First: apologies for the one-month hiatus. Speech season has been an energy zapper this year. Now that we’re nearing the finish line, I’ll have time to catch up on what I’ve been doing.

One of our latest projects has been designing soundtracks/playlists for our independent reading books. This entailed students choosing four songs that matched a scene in their books and creating a Smore page.

To introduce the project, I presented my own example project: A playlist for Jonathan Maberry’s Dust and Decay. 

Students created their own and then presented them to the class. The project turned out to be a great way not only to integrate reading, writing, and speaking, but also a way expose students to new books that they wouldn’t have considered reading otherwise.

I created a Symbaloo with links to the students’ Smore pages. Check them out!

 

1 Comment

  1. Ashley Carpenter

    November 15, 2020 at 9:02 pm

    Thank you for this! I am showing your student examples to my students for their book soundtracks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2024 Technology Pursuit

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

Skip to toolbar